Home » Weight Loss » I am a legalistic “dieter”

I am a legalistic “dieter”

Hello everybody! Here I am! Today was my first day in the “Trim Healthy Mama” (THM for short) method! I am all happy, excited, doubtful, nervous, motivated, fearful, encouraged and skeptic at the same time. THM has facebook groups and I am there probably making the moderators go crazy… 1st. I post about how excited I am … then I question the whole “concept” behind it… then I humbly admit I am afraid of failing and later I am all excited all over again. Yes…. all in ONE Day!

The thing is that this is what *I* would call a “Grace based method” … they tell you to eat certain things (like butter) “freely” … now … these ladies, the ones that wrote the book and created this system… FOR SURE DON’T KNOW *ME* … You can NOT tell me to eat “anything” freely because…. MY freely looks very different from most people’s freely.

The idea behind the method is to leave your “calorie counting” behind and to embrace the fact that your body will know what to do with the calories you eat if you make good choices and do not mix “fuel types” (fuel types talking about fat vs. carb) so… While for some meals I get to eat very fatty everything and very low carbs … for others the carbs are increased and the fats really decreased while keeping “protein” always at the center.

When eating those “fatty meals” they don’t give you “calorie numbers” or “amount limits” (except for very few items) so… that “freedom” makes me very nervous…

I speak about “grace and legalism” because that’s what I can compare it to… You know? For example… We are saved by GRACE and not through good works… Jesus died for us on the cross, resurrected and paid the price… there’s nothing I need to add to that… it was finished. BUT … out of love (and not because of the “law”) we live a “grace based” life… living for him… with the freedom to choose and do the right thing… just because it comes natural, there are struggles but doing good works, even when not necessary for salvation are just a response to that grace that has been given to us…

But… there are other people… that might feel the need to abide “by the law” even when knowing that ONLY GRACE saves… the law keeps them accountable… especially for those things where they might be weaker… just to give an example… some see “drinking alcohol” as a freedom and as something we can do “in moderation” … some others completely abstain from it… and feel it’s a form of sin… the one under “grace” might feel it’s “stupid” to have those “legalistic boundaries” but for the one who might struggle with alcohol those “boundaries” are actually “liberating”

I don’t even know if I am making any sense… with what i am trying to say… The way I see it is like this: “when it comes to eating I NEED THE LAW” … I need the restrictions, the amounts and numbers… and the good thing is that even when THM is not ABOUT THAT you can still “adapt it” to what works for you without “getting far from the plan”

So… what I do … is… eat the things recommended by the plan… with the formulas used by the plan (never mixing fuels, keeping carbs at bay when eating “S type meals” and keeping fats low when eating “E type meals”, etc.) but I ALSO count calories… now  I don’t try to keep them at the low numbers of 1200-1400 but “I watch them” to not exceed the “healthy numbers” and I feel … that by doing this… I keep myself accountable, in check and in a healthy balance.

I know many people hate counting calories… and they see it as a “dreadful restriction”… for me… I find freedom in those limits!!!

So… I guess now that I’ve thought of how I am going to approach this new method… I can say… I am EXCITED!

My day today looks like this so far: (Today I am doing a LOW CARB DAY – only THM “S” type meals- just because of my ‘carb addiction’ I am “shocking my body” but my future days will not look like this)

s day

(Daily Goals are determined by the amount of exercise, etc… and based on my previous settings for “low calorie days” so those are not the ones to follow for THM, the numbers that I follow are the “totals”)

I hope this will work for me.

The Thin Lady Inside

4 thoughts on “I am a legalistic “dieter”

  1. As I was reading through this I kept thinking you should count calories AND follow their rules, and sure enough you came to the same conclusion!
    I really hope it works for you. I have high hopes that this will be your ticket!

    • Yes… I’ve been learning more about how calories play a role in this “THM” method… it turns out that even when they don’t want you “counting calories” they want to make sure you keep things changing… sometimes have “larger amounts of calories” sometimes “lower” and the method itself should take care of that… so … if I count calories -because I love it- then I have to make sure I don’t try to “hit a number” and “keep it there” -like I used to- because that’s exactly what they don’t want… the body to adapt to a certain number. So… interesting!

Leave a Reply

