Home » Food pictures » Kings Day and a cold front

Kings Day and a cold front

Hello everybody! I am hun-gry! Soooo hungry! I am craving all kinds of stuff… so as I type I am waiting for my cup of coffee to be ready and I’ll be toasting some low calorie bread that I’ll have with some Reduced Sugar Jelly on top! πŸ™‚ YUM!

Anyway… Today was my first official day to exercise… and I say “first” just because it’s the first day of the year that I actually went out for my usual morning walk with my friend… who… finally came back last night! I sooo missed her! And I was excited when she confirmed we would walk this morning… but then… I must admit that when I heard last night about the “cold front” that would hit us and how the temperatures would drop I was tempted to back out of it! But you all… yes… you all kept me encouraged! Your comments, the posts I’ve read of those of you who run when it’s icy cold and who have even fallen on the ice… well.. all of those things were on my mind and I realized I had no excuse! Even when hubby made it all worse by saying “you probably shouldn’t go! It will be too cold!” Still… I bravely got out… it was 28 degrees which is a lot for Texas! Thankfully it was not humid! I must say it feels way worse when it’s 38 and humid than 28 and dry! I was all bundled up and met my friend at “our usual place” we were happy to see each other again! I thought I would see more people walking… you know? with the whole “New Year Resolutions” thing? But no… I guess in days like this is when you separate those that are really determined from those who aren’t… because seriously…. NO EXCUSES! Now… I am not judging those who stayed in bed… or saying that they will not be able to do it “tomorrow” or some other day… I’ve been “there” so many times… I’ve been the one to stay in bed rather than exercise …well… too many times (and not too long ago!) but I feel like “rough days” and “hard moments” are a great opportunity that shouldn’t be wasted… they are amazing will power boosters, when you don’t go out and exercise on a day like this just because you didn’t feel like it (I’m not talking about serious stuff, but … more like “it was too cold” stuff) you lose the chance to prove to yourself how strong you are, how important this really is, how serious you are about it… and you also miss the great “after the fact” feeling of accomplishment and pride… hey… I am saying all this to myself… remember? I am just writing my journey yes… to share with others but more importantly to have these memories STAY somewhere so I can go back to moments like this and use it as reminders when my strength is lacking! (maybe tomorrow… because it will be even colder!)

{{{ YUM, Coffee and toast with jelly are ready! I’m enjoying and feeling much better now! }}}

So… today is also “Kings Day” .. in Mexico we celebrate this day with a “Rosca” (King Cake) … This traditional bread is not that good… sorry! At least I am not a big fan of it. LOL! It looks interesting but it’s not “a big deal” not too sweet, not savory, it’s some very simple pastry… decorated with some candied fruit and the “big deal” about this cake is that it traditionally carries “little plastic babies” inside… (about 5, depending on the size of the cake), usually many people gather, from different families… or at work (I remember eating it at work with peers, etc.) and whoever gets the first baby is in charge of making “tamales” for a party to celebrate Candlemass on February 2. This is mostly a “Roman Catholic” tradition… which I am not… but in Mexico more than celebrating it as a “Catholic Religious Thing” it has become more of a cultural thing where people get together, eat bread and organize yet another party to keep eating! LOL! So… the first person to get a baby is in charge of the tamales, whoever else gets “babies” has to cooperate to organize the party, in the end everybody just “pitches in” … it is fun!

So… in Mexico (especially Central and South areas of Mexico) children receive gifts today on January 6th … and it’s the “Three Kings” who bring the gifts for the children (not Santa Claus) … my girls… are spoiled.. and get to have gifts on Christmas (because of my gringo) and they will be receiving gifts later today (it was supposed to be in the morning but since it’s not an official Holiday and daddy had to leave early for work, we’ll be doing it tonight). We’ll have a family over (my friend that I run with and her family) for some hot cocoa/coffee/King Cake and we’ll enjoy the King Cake… Well… they will…. I will pass.

Usually, most people buy a big rosca already made… I actually get to have fun making my own… I made two (if there’s leftover hubby will get to share at work!)… Today is also the last day to have any Christmas decorations… and I am looking forward to removing the “left-overs” πŸ™‚

IMG_9559[1]

I didn’t include the “plastic babies” to avoid any choking hazard.

Happy Kings Day!

The Thin Lady Inside

4 thoughts on “Kings Day and a cold front

  1. I remember that you made those last year too and they do look good! We also have the kings day in Quebec(catholic) and its getting to be a bit of a lost tradition. We are suppose to bake a cake and put a dry beans in it. So the person who finds the bean in its portion gets to be the Queen or the King for the day. If you ask me it’s a good way to get someone choking lol. We used to do it when I was a kid but except for pretending to be royalty and eating a piece of cake there was not much about the tradition really.

    You did good to brave the weather and go for a walk, I am happy that you have a walk buddy, it is sometimes too easy to let yourself down but with someone else involved you have to kick your own …

    • Interesting… I love learning about what’s done in other countries… I like the “queen for the day” thing πŸ˜€ … I agree… putting anything inside the cake represents an unnecessary risk πŸ˜‰

  2. Today I awoke to -9 degrees.. I did not go outside. Your 28 degrees seems quite balmy to me right now! πŸ™‚
    But you’re exactly right. You can keep making excuses all you want, but if you’re serious, you overcome the obstacles and do what you need to do to reach your goal. So good for you! It’s that kind of attitude that will lead you to success!
    Your King’s cake looks beautiful! I hope your friends and family enjoy it while you enjoy your coffee. πŸ˜‰
    And perhaps tomorrow’s cold morning will spur you to walk a little faster and burn even more calories! (And did you know your body burns calories while trying to get warm, so the cold weather could be helping you out!)

    • My goodness! That’s cold! Our family in Milwaukee reached -25 I think? I am not sure… but that’s what I think it was… crazy! I miss it! I am happy it doesn’t get like that here though because I would for sure have to stay inside with temperatures like that!

Leave a Reply

