Home » Food pictures » Back from Mexico…

Back from Mexico…

Hello everybody… so… I did have to end up going to Mexico… My dad’s condition was way worse than we originally thought… he actually had a massive heart attack. The doctors can’t explain yet how he made it for 2 days without medical attention, when he got to the hospital he had over 3000 units of some enzymes produced by the body when the heart fails… I am sorry if I can’t explain things right… it’s all a blur… but the doctors said something like: “when a person has over 300-400 units it is considered a heart attack, your dad has over 3000 units”… so we rushed to Mexico but I wasn’t allowed to see him… he couldn’t have any emotions… nor good or bad. At least I was a support for my mom and siblings in the scariest hours.. the first 72 hours were crucial, he was in the ICU and he made it… the doctor says he is still not out of danger and they continue to administer medication to keep him from having a thrombosis, he is now in a normal room and he started asking last night about me and if I could go see him… he doesn’t have any clue I just returned last night from being just a few steps away from him all weekend. Now my mom is afraid to tell him I was there and wasn’t allowed to see him… so he won’t know… it makes me sad he probably wonders why I am not there!?

Anyway… I just hope his recovery is complete…. and I obviously didn’t have much opportunity to count calories while there… but did have the opportunity to eat things that I love and I hadn’t eaten for 7 years! Things right there in my country… that can’t be fully replicated in the USA…

"Pollo Feliz"

“Pollo Feliz”

My favorite Grilled chicken "Pollo Feliz" with tortillas, guacamole and blanched/seasoned red onions.

My favorite Grilled chicken “Pollo Feliz” with tortillas, guacamole and blanched/seasoned red onions.

"Tamal Sinaloense"

“Tamal Sinaloense”

Regardless of my not counting calories and letting myself enjoy some Mexican food I must say I still stayed away from my very favorite street tacos and soda… and from many other succulent dishes… I must say I am happy I am not there anymore because it would be near to impossible to lose weight with all those options… Ah! Can’t resist Mexican dishes!!! and my favorite ones are not that healthy! Although I know I still lost weight when I used to live there… you can always adapt every dish to make it a healthier/lighter version… (it still isn’t the same though!)

So… thankfully my dad is getting better and thankfully I am now away from all that food… or it would be likely I’d end up in a hospital just like him.

The Thin and very Mexican Lady Inside

 

One thought on “Back from Mexico…

  1. Wow, that’s a tough call on what to tell your dad. I think he should know you were there, but for his safety, you weren’t allowed to see him. That must have been hard for you as well!
    I’m glad you took advantage of some authentic food while you were there. If I ever make it to Greece, I plan to eat all my favorites, healthy or not, ’cause you’re right. It’s just not the same in the US.
    Thanks for the update! Continued best wishes for your dad’s speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

