Home » Food pictures » Butternut Squash Soup

Butternut Squash Soup

Ah! I am doing much better! I finally got my walk in today! I got out in the cold and a bit of rain (just a drizzle) and felt alive again! It’s amazing what “moving” can do for you! I even got in the groove of cooking and experimenting again!

Would you believe it if I told you I had never had butternut squash? It’s a vegetable that has always intrigued me… it looks so beautiful! So perfect for fall… so inviting and at the same time a little scary! It’s one of those things I just have the feeling I won’t like but I made myself buy it at the store just to try it!

So… I made a butternut squash soup and it was delicious! JUST DELICIOUS! I used whole milk instead of heavy whipping cream just to reduce calories and fat so… and when I checked the amount of calories on myfitnesspal (I entered the recipe and each ingredient) I came up with this:

This soup makes 4 generous servings (I say 4 because I loved it so much that I know I ate a quarter of this soup) and… for a serving that size… it has only 199 calories! Isn’t that great? So… here we go… get ready! this is GOOD!!! (I took the picture using a ramekin, which obviously isn’t big but each serving is about 1 bowl)

IMG_8984RECIPE:

BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP

1 2lb. butternut squash, whole, not peeled, quartered, seeds and fibers from the center removed and set aside (don’t discard)
1/2 white onion chopped
3 tbsp. butter
3/4 cup of whole milk
1 tsp. packed light brown sugar
5 cups of water
freshly grated nutmeg (a pinch or two -or three-)
salt to taste

Directions:
1. In a large saucepan melt 1.5 tbsp. of butter (medium/low heat). Once butter is melted add the chopped onion and sautee until translucent. Add the reserved squash seeds/fibers, stir frequently and sautee until fragrant and the butter has turned deep orange/redish (about 8 mins.)
2. Add water to seeds/fibers and bring to a boil. Once it’s boiling turn the heat down to a simmer, cover -leaving it a bit open- and simmer for about 50 minutes.
3. In a large pot (or a steamer) add a little bit of water, quartered butternut squash, cover with a tight lid and let it steam for about 50 minutes (while the seeds/fibers of the squash simmer making a nutty broth)
4. Once the steamed squash is ready (there should be no resistance at all to a fork/knife) remove carefully using tongs and place in a bowl. Let it cool a little bit so you can handle it with your hands.
5. In the meantime strain your pumpkin seed broth into a big bowl or measuring container. Discard all the seeds/fibers and chopped onion. You should have about 3 cups of broth, that’s about all you’ll need (if you have more than that don’t get rid of it)
6. Using a big spoon scoop the flesh out of the squash and discard the peel.
7. Using a blender (and in about 3-4 batches to avoid having an explosion) carefully blend the squash along with the liquid, making sure it has a nice consistency but not too runny and/or thick (you can always add more of the broth if needed later).
8. Once all the squash is blended pour it back into the big saucepan and bring to a simmer at medium heat. Add the milk, remaining 1.5 tbsp. of butter, teaspoon of brown sugar and pinch of nutmeg (or more to taste), season with more salt to taste. Add more of the broth to thin if too thick. Let it simmer and stir until all flavors are combined.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. This looks fabulous! But I’m a little intimidated by squash as well. I’ve often looked at recipes for spaghetti squash, but haven’t had the nerve to try it. I’m actually that way with yeast too. It’s so unfamiliar to me, that I haven’t stepped out of my comfort zone to try it.

    Maybe you’ve given me the push I needed! 🙂

    • I know! This is an intimidating ingredient until you use it! 🙂 I mean… not that I know what else to do with it… but I am looking forward to learning more ways to use it. Spaghetti Squash is another one that I tried recently… I’ve heard many people use it instead of pasta and mix it with spaghetti sauce and rave about it… I hated it…. No pasta-like consistency at all… I think if I ever give it another chance I’ll do it “treating it as a vegetable” and not expecting “spaghetti” I probably had too high expectations for it… flavor was blah too… But hopefully you’ll give butternut squash a chance 😉

Leave a Reply

