Home » Food pictures » Getting easier

Getting easier

So… again, after a few VERY, very rough days where I struggled to keep my eating under control but still did… is getting a bit easier… yes… once again… I hope it continues that way… I am eating more calories than in the beginning… I am at about 1400-1500 calories a day… to be able to actually avoid the sudden “hunger attacks” but I am making sure that every calorie comes from a healthy source even making my own hummus (I make chickpea hummus and cannellini bean hummus) and I’ve found that “34 degrees” (brand) crisps are a great solution for “salty cravings” … you eat 9 crisps for 50 calories and 0 grams of fat!  so I eat those with my homemade hummus with about 50 calories per serving and there you go… you can still enjoy a salty treat and eat healthy.

Anyway… I still have continued to bake… and cook… I baked another apple pie now for hubby and made a potato/corn chowder for dinner, it wasn’t the best idea to make a potato chowder after making a pie… it only made me get into “peeling and slicing” after being already tired of it.. so … I hope you are a better planner than I am and go for a simpler dessert if you ever make that… the chowder was delicious and since I had barely had any carbs during the day I indulged with it. It was so creamy and satisfying!
For lunch yesterday I had an amazing, big ham sandwich with an ultra thin slice of sharp cheddar from Sargento (I love those things! What a brilliant idea! REAL, WHOLE cheese for only 45 calories!) … and avocado.. for only 393 calories – I eat sugar free whole wheat bread which only has 45-50 cals per slice. (I went for a double serving of ham! it was sooo delicious!) Let me show you:

IMG_8353[1]

And tonight… for dinner I cooked “Harvest time Chicken with Peppers” so delicious and comforting,  I used skinless chicken thighs which I lightly floured and then browned in a bit of olive oil, then transferred to a baking dish and in the skillet where I browned the chicken I then sauteed lots of onions, bell peppers (you can use all green, yellow and red, I unfortunately only had green) and fresh basil, fresh oregano and fresh parsley… plus fresh garlic, then added lots of chopped tomatoes, 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock -fat free- and seasoned with salt and black pepper, once it was all boiling I covered the chicken with the veggies, covered and baked for 30 mins. at 350 degrees, DONE!  I accompanied it with lots of steamed green beans. Talk about yummy!

IMG_8380[1]

So… once again… I am rediscovering my passion for cooking healthy! Going back to the basics and even for shortcuts that I had forgotten like cans of light progresso soup to have available for those moments when I am feeling weak and in need of eating something warm. Yup… I am remembering that eating healthy shouldn’t be boring and bland… it shouldn’t feel like a sacrifice but a reward.

There it goes… I hope I continue this way!

The Thin Lady Inside

One thought on “Getting easier

  1. Don’t you love finding delicious healthy foods that you can enjoy without feeling guilty? I wish I had your passion for cooking. I find something simple that tastes good, and I stick with it. Perhaps that’s why I enjoyed my trip to Florida so much. I got to eat different foods!
    Sounds like you’re getting back into the swing of things! I can sense your excitement again! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

