Home » Uncategorized » Ok I did it…

Ok I did it…

Hello everyone… So… in my previous post I shared about how I started to see the numbers go up on the scale again little by little, first +0.4 then +0.7 and I began to think about the reasons why this could be when everything seemed to be going “so good” … I thought maybe I needed to have one of those days where I eat more to kind of get my body going again but I was doubtful, hesitant and scared about doing that… what if I just gained more weight without any results? But still did it… I ate good for the whole day and then at night I ate more than I usually do, not junk food, just more and more of a “regular meal” without worrying about my usual calorie counting … I had meatloaf (still lean beef and my “healthier meatloaf” recipe with pace salsa in it and no bacon and without a ketchup/mustard/brown sugar glaze on top, I also had a baked red potato with butter) and 1 homemade oatmeal/chocolate chip cookie. It felt good to just “eat” I didn’t weigh-in the next day (yesterday) I didn’t want to freak out from seeing the numbers possibly go higher in the morning from the bigger dinner the night before but what I did instead was “RUN again” … As you know my running pal doesn’t want to run anymore… she just wants to walk… and I understand it… she doesn’t enjoy running very much and also there’s no much motivation in it for her because she doesn’t burn that much more calories running vs walking (Weird) … she burns WAY more calories than I do walking but then I kill it running… so we walk… we just walk… and talk… and it’s very enjoyable but I do need to do something else to get my heart rate going… So now that her kids are back in school we’ve been going earlier for our walks and that means I get at least 15 more minutes before hubby has to go to work… So.. when we’re done with our walk and I head home I go to the gym in the apartments instead and hop on the treadmill and run for those 15 minutes … It’s amazing! I only get to run about 1.5 miles but it’s better than nothing and I do get my heart rate going faster and burn way more calories… just this morning I had only burned 290 calories in 1 hour of brisk walking and then burned an additional 350 calories in 20 minutes (15 mins. of running and 5 minutes of walking around the apartment complex) … incredible!Β  I am also slowly starting to incorporate strength training (planks/push-ups/abs) and hopefully that will make a difference as well.

So… I had already reached 174.1 then gained those +0.4 and +0.7 which took me to 175.2 today I am 174.5 so hopefully whatever I am doing (including the “indulging” with a purpose and controlled and scheduled) works and keeps my body guessing enough to make it lose more!

I feel encouraged and motivated on that area… Although I am a little worried because I know that the emotional stuff plays a big role in the weight loss area and right now my heart is heavy and a little anxious about several things, a friend is pregnant in very “special” circumstances and doctors don’t give much hopes for either her or her babies (yes, more than 1) and a team from our church just came back from another of their many Mission Trips to Peru… and the things I heard about the conditions many live there… were just heartbreaking and so many details that I didn’t need to know… I am angry and sad… and … well… I hope I can move on because it’s not like I am making a difference by “getting angry” … right? -sigh-

Anyway… That’s it for now… Today I already did my walking and my running …

The Thin Lady Inside

4 thoughts on “Ok I did it…

  1. Good for you for keeping at it!! I was having trouble too, so I changed the way I did things. First, I use Calorie Count app to track my nutrition & calories. Seems I wasn’t eating enough! When I added 300 calories to my diet, my weight started to drop 1lb a week. (I don’t want to lose any faster, thats when people get flabby skin-ick!)I also got tired of the ups/downs on the scale, so I weigh in once a week (Wednesday mornings). So far, I’m down 38lbs! πŸ™‚ Keep at it and you will see the progress!!

    • WOW! You are doing a great job! πŸ™‚ I remember when I lost 38 pounds… I was proud but sometimes felt like it wasn’t that much… I don’t know if that happens to you but “visualizing” the weight in the form of “butter” or LARD … helped! I thought… ok… I’ve lost 38 pounds of butter … or 2 big Thanksgiving turkeys! LOL! πŸ™‚ … You’d think “a number” would make you happy… Now that I’ve lost almost 50 pounds I continue to struggle not giving myself credit for all I’ve accomplished… but … again… “visualizing it” helps… so… I hope you continue encouraged and knowing you’ve done A LOT! πŸ™‚ You’re doing awesome! Thanks for dropping by and sharing about your journey!

  2. I think it was a good move to add a few more calories. Like playfulpups, when I added more calories I actually lost more weight. You have to eat just enough, but not too much. And the running will definitely help. You need that cardio along with the muscle toning! You’re doing great! Sure hope the scale starts to realize it too!

Leave a Reply

