Home » Food pictures » I can feel it…

I can feel it…

I can feel the peace coming back after the weird emotional storm of the week… I am regaining control over what I eat and over the “anxious hunger” I get… Yesterday was a good day… I still couldn’t go run but I did my “walking in place” thing and I reached and passed the minimum of 10,000 steps for the day… I also went swimming and spent about 30 min. very active in the pool, unfortunately I can’t spend any more time in there because of the allergies to the pool water (maybe the chlorine, maybe all the chemicals combined) so of course I took the antihistamine and after coming out of the water showered immediately and “frosted myself” (LOL) with lots of a cream that the dermatologist gave me. I still feel a bit itchy and a slight burning sensation mainly on my cheeks, around the eyes and lips… but … I just can’t live in Texas and not be able to get in the pool! LOL!

So… my day ended like this:

I ate 1349 calories (it’s the best I’ve done for a whole week)

I burned a total of 2457 calories for the whole day… I feel proud.

Now… let me share with you a quick recipe for Sweet Potato Fries. These are very simple and they’re a much better choice when you are craving “French Fries” … plus you are not missing out in flavor, I’d say quite the opposite… These are simple and GOOOOOOD!

I don’t know if I’ve told you but I used to HATE sweet potatoes, but I didn’t know I didn’t hate sweet potatoes but the way many people cook them… Sweet potatoes for me are sweet enough and I don’t like them with any extra brown sugar or marshmallows (just the thought makes me shiver!) but I do like them with salt and butter and/or olive oil! So I had never made or tried sweet potato fries before but about 2 weeks ago we went to a fast food restaurant and I was left craving french fries (I LOVE THEM) so when I got home I decided to make my own fries… out of sweet potatoes (which are more better for you anyways), these potato fries are baked so you reduce the amount of fat A LOT by not doing any deep frying! so… here’s my version of easy and quick for those sudden “French Fries” cravings:

SWEET POTATO FRIES

This whole recipe has a total of 231 cal.  (yes for the whole recipe) vs 600 calories for fries at a fast food restaurant!

RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • one large sweet potato
  • coarse sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • good quality olive oil (1 tbsp.)

IMG_7145

Directions:

Preheat the oven at  450 degrees Fahrenheit. Peel the potato (unless you like the skin, you can leave it). Cut the narrow ends of the potato off (only if they’re really thin). Since we are dealing with a large (very large) sweet potato cut it in half (not lengthwise). Take each half and cut them into large slices about   3/4 inch thick.

IMG_7146

  Cut those slices into fries and place them into a baking sheet (I use a jelly roll pan). Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste (I recommend to be generous with the ground black pepper) and drizzle with the olive oil (about 1 tbsp. should be good, you can use 2 tbsp. but if you use too much they can get soggy) Toss it all together making sure you get all the fries coated with the mix of salt, pepper and oil.

IMG_7149

I couldn’t use as much black pepper as I would’ve liked because I was sharing with my little ones

Now arrange all the fries on the baking sheet making sure they are all evenly spaced and not touching each other.

IMG_7150

Put them in the preheated oven for 15 minutes. (Make sure to leave them alone for this period of time without opening the oven, don’t cook anything else at the same time because they might turn soggy). After those 15 minutes take them out and flip each fry (use tongs to avoid burning yourself unless you’d rather use your hands if you’re used to the heat). Once they are all turned over place them back into the oven for an extra 10 mins. (Don’t keep them out of the oven for too long when flipping them). I hope you were indeed generous with the black pepper because spicy sweet potatoes are delicious (you can also add a touch of paprika and cayenne pepper to these!). Trust me, even sweet potato haters will love these!

IMG_7355[1]Enjoy!

The Thin Lady Inside

One thought on “I can feel it…

  1. Sweet potatoes are so good for you, and we love them around here! I will definitely be trying this out!
    Glad to hear you’re getting some peace back into your life. I’m really hoping you have a great week to come. Enjoy your Sunday!

Leave a Reply

