Home » Weight Loss » Day 9 – 81 to go: No excuses!

Day 9 – 81 to go: No excuses!

Hello everybody! Yesterday was a busy, busy day… but all in a good way! First thing in the morning I went for a quick trip to the grocery store before hubby had to leave for work, I was going to have people over and I had no idea what I was going to offer them, I had people coming for lunch and also for dinner… Lunch would be like “picnic” food since we would all swim at the pool (after taking my allergy medicine and getting lots of medicated lotion for my skin to keep it from bursting into a horrible rash from the chlorine in the pool water), so, trip to the grocery store, picking up the house, doing dishes, people came over at 10:00, swam in the pool, then lunch, then getting ready for my appointment with the Rheumatologist to see if there’s anything wrong with me or not… (will get the results next week)… then came back home (it was 4:30 by then), fixed dinner for our guests who would get here at 6:00, did dishes, served dinner and… AND… escaped to the gym while our guests were here… thankfully our guests were the husband of my running pal (she’s working as a leader at a youth camp this week) and his son, so it wasn’t anything formal and I thought it would be good for me to leave “the guys” alone to talk to be able to get my run in! I totally could’ve had the excuse of “I have guests, I can’t leave” and even when hubby wasn’t thrilled about me leaving them in charge of “the kids” he knew I had to do it! I of course couldn’t disappear from the scene for too long so I decided to go for only 45 min. The treadmill was unfortunately busy so I used the elliptical for the first 35 mins. (I don’t enjoy the elliptical but it was good! My calves are burning right now). and then when the treadmill was free I ran for 10 min. there. Came back home took a shower and proceeded to join the conversation with our guest.  So… no excuses for me…

About the scale… ehem… well… you know I am not weighing myself in for 90 days, that’s my current goal, well, yesterday at the doctor’s they weighed me, I actually closed my eyes when they did to avoid looking, but then when I opened them and looked to the side to not see “the scale” I saw what the nurse wrote… I am not even going to tell you the number because I don’t even care and also because I had just had lunch, water and was wearing shoes when I was weighed… you can tell is a bigger number than I’d like it to be, right? but… anyway… I truly didn’t care… and I continue strong in my “no weigh in” goal! Hubby laughed when he saw my efforts to “not look” and then when he saw my expression change because I had “looked” without wanting to… he said “are you ok?” and he seemed surprised when I truly didn’t let it bother me at all…

I ended my day with a calorie deficit of 1246 calories, I don’t burn as much on the elliptical as I do when I run… even when I feel I make a bigger effort on it… weird! … My calorie intake for the day was 1174 and I am happy to say that I actually ate more fruit than I usually do.

It was a great, successful day! Where I didn’t allow myself to make any excuses…

And talking about no excuses, I told you in a previous post that my sister has started eating healthy and exercising, well today was her first week weigh-in and she lost 4 pounds! I am THRILLED for her! And I will make a happy dance when she leaves me behind and reaches her own goals! I couldn’t want anything less for my wonderful sister! I am so proud of her for resisting a ton of temptations this week!

Yes… I am The Thin Lady Inside and I am a food addict… I’ve been sober for 9 days… And today… just for today… I’ll make all the right choices…. ONE DAY AT A TIME!

The Thin Lady Inside

2 thoughts on “Day 9 – 81 to go: No excuses!

  1. You truly have committed yourself to this, and I’m so proud of you! I’m happy your sister’s scale is being a little nicer to her than yours is to you. You’re a big motivation for her, I’m sure!
    I’m also thrilled to see you didn’t get upset by the number you tried so hard not to see! 🙂 In your situation, that number means absolutely nothing. Your reward is knowing that you’re not giving yourself any excuses, you’re becoming stronger every day, and you’re eating healthy meals. You’re doing good for yourself, even if the numbers on the scale don’t agree. You’re amazing, TLI. Keep it up!

    • Thank you Shadow! I am very excited about doing this! I hope my focus continues on being healthy and not on seeing “good numbers” on a scale at the end of all this! Thanks for always making time for me… You are just a great motivation and such a great friend!

Leave a Reply

