Home » Inspirational » Just Thankful

Just Thankful

I know… People usually post “Thankful Thoughts” on Thursdays… because it starts the same way… I have nothing against that… I like the “Wordless Wednesdays” “Thankful Thursdays” “Friendly Fridays” “Monday Moments” and so on… I just never do that in THIS blog…  and today I was just Thankful… so it’s not because it’s Thursday… but had to say that today I feel thankful for 2 main things…

1. It’s not too hot outside! It’s been raining a lot these past few days so the weather is not unbearably hot… (it’s July and it’s Texas!!!) so we’ve been in the 80’s and this morning at 5:30 when I left my house for my walk (didn’t run, just walked today) it was 75 degrees! and with a nice breeze… so when you live in Texas you HAVE to be thankful for that.

After my walk I headed home (I have to drive to the place where I meet my running pal) and here comes my second reason to be thankful today…

2. Dawn! Oh! How I love welcoming the morning! When I leave my house it’s still dark but as I am walking/running the first colors of the day start showing… it’s like a special gift for the sacrifice of leaving my bed so early! I remember when I my first girl was a newborn… I was tired and sleep deprived, she would cry in the middle of the night, hungry! And even when I loved being in my bed and even when I was tired and my eyes were burning… I felt honored to be chosen to be part of such a special moment… Nobody got to see her beautiful face in the middle of the night, I was the CHOSEN ONE to hold the miracle of life in my arms and feel her soft skin against mine… It was so beautiful that it was overwhelming and it always brought tears to my eyes… and the tears were out of joy and at the same time I couldn’t believe THAT moment was “just mine” and the whole world was missing it! I felt sorry for my husband who was still sleeping while I got to enjoy it all by myself! 🙂

I feel God in His wisdom gives you those gifts when you need them the most, you just have to learn to appreciate them…  Whether you have to wake up in the middle of the night to change a diaper or feed your baby… Or you are struggling to wake up in the morning to go exercise… Remember that as you give something up to do something that is needed… you never come back empty handed! So… when my alarm goes off in the morning and I feel like I could stay in bed a little longer… I think of the gift that I am about to enjoy and I don’t want to miss it… The beautiful colors in the sky… The purple, golden, bright pink and yellow and it’s different EVERY SINGLE TIME… it makes it all worth it…

The Thin Lady Inside

One thought on “Just Thankful

  1. THAT is why I get up in the morning. I never want to miss the waking of the day. I usually get up around 5:00 AM. The sun’s just beginning to lighten the sky, and by the time I’m dressed and out the door, it’s poking its head above the horizon. In fact, I was shocked when I awoke at 5 in Texas and it was still completely dark outside! Even being in the same time zone, your sun sleeps in a little bit longer. 😉
    Anyway, you’re right to view waking up early as a blessing instead of a curse. It took me a while to realize it too, but I wouldn’t have it any other way! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

