Home » Uncategorized » Before the “BIG DAY”

Before the “BIG DAY”

Hello everybody… we’re almost there! The BIG Day… and I have determined to keep it that way… let “the day” be BIG and not me! In case you don’t know what I am talking about … well… it’s Christmas… A day I’ve always looked forward to! Never dreaded! Not even when I am on a diet! šŸ˜‰

Today my day has ended at 1496 calories! I’ve stayed busy and happy to feel in control. Tomorrow… Tomorrow will be crazy… crazy busy! I haven’t cooked or baked anything ahead of time… Today would’ve been my cooking/baking day but I got busy with other things and when I was about to start we had friends who stopped by but the visit ended up getting longer (which was great) than expected and right now I am just too exhausted to start baking anything… I’ve decided I am just going to sit, enjoy my nightly treat (which I’ve already counted in those 1496 calories) and watch a movie with hubby… Tomorrow I’ll just get up earlier and start… I am not worried about something “burning” or getting ruined… Christmas, for me, is not about that… family, food, gifts, lights and decorations are all great… but to me… really, the focus is Jesus… to think that He came to this world… in the form of a baby… being God, decided to become vulnerable and feel what we feel, experience what we experience, to bring peace and true joy… -sigh- I get teary just to think about it…

There were other Christmases when, regardless of having His joy inside of me… Things around me kept trying to steal it… I was married before… in a very abusive relationship… where… celebrating anything was out of the question, I remember singing Christmas Carols inside of me, holding my breath out of fear of my then husband, wishing someone could come and rescue me so I could sing out loud the Praises that were pounding inside my chest… and now… being here… enjoying it all… having a wonderful husband who loves me so much… I can’t help but enjoy even the “burning” of a meal!

Merry Christmas to you all! Remember the Reason for the Season… Enjoy your families and don’t take ANYTHING for granted… Pray for those in Connecticut and those in hospitals or for those women, who just like I was once, are not able to celebrate as they want….

I praise God for His son who came to this dark, sinful, painful world… so that we may have real peace in Him.

The Thin Lady Inside

6 thoughts on “Before the “BIG DAY”

    • Thank you! I don’t have a FB page for this blog… I’ve thought about starting one but I think for now it will only be the blog, I have two other blogs and a fb page for one of them and it’s a lot to keep up with those… I try to maintain them separately to keep this one very personal and “anonymous” if possible… but maybe in the future.. Thank you so much for your encouraging words! šŸ™‚

  1. So very much ….a huge and grateful Amen! A very special Merry Christmas to you and to your family. Praise our Lord for His wonderful mercy and grace which is so very evident in our lives. Amen.

  2. I, too, did all my baking in one day and didn’t fret about any of it. I was just thankful that I actually had the day off to do it, and I made sure I enjoyed every minute.
    Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful, LOVING, family! I’m so happy you’re in a much better place now!

Leave a Reply

