Home » Weight Loss » Mas vale paso que dure…

Mas vale paso que dure…

Ok, you probably didn’t understand the title of my post… In Mexico we’re full of “sayings” and popular expressions/phrases…. there is one that goes: “Mas vale paso que dure y no trote que canse” which means “A slow pace that lasts is better than a quick pace that tires” … I guess I got too hard on myself trying to lose weight too fast, I was doing good but obsessed with reducing my calorie intake each day, every time I had a calorie net intakeΒ  for the day that was lower than 900 calories “myfitnesspal” would say that I’d lose more than 10 pounds in 5 weeks… and I could almost “feel it!” … I was so excited that I forgot that even when myfitnesspal was calculating my weightloss with the amount of calories I was eating… they were also suggesting I should eat more (just like some friends here in the blog did too!) But I just wanted to lose those pounds, quickly! and ate less than I should’ve… This weekend, as you know I ate, more than I usually would… and it turns out that I’ve lost 1.3 pounds… I know I wasn’t eating enough calories… So… I guess the “Mexican expression” applies to me… It’s better if I lose weight slower, steadily and can keep up with it… rather than trying to go too fast and then not be able to continue! Today… I had a net calorie intake of 1309 which is 109 calories over my daily goal, but it’s fine… It’s still a good number, and I’d rather do this and lose, even if not as fast as I want, than just ending up discouraged from burning myself trying to eat as little as possible…

Ok… so I admit it … You (myfitnesspal, shadowrun, etc.) were right, I’ll stick closer to my calorie goal instead of going too low… πŸ™‚ It was a good day today… Got my exercise, ate healthy and enough! Good night now! πŸ˜‰
The Thin Lady Inside

6 thoughts on “Mas vale paso que dure…

  1. I am very happy to read this! I was a little worried about you eating under 1200 cal. πŸ™‚ I can understand the urge to lose and be done with it because I feel it myself sometimes. It’s alright if it takes time because it will take longer to maintain it so I think it will help us in the long run if it takes longer to reach the goal. I am right there with you!

    • Thanks! I knew I was eating less calories than I should’ve! But sometimes you fall in the temptation and eat less to lose more… you think “maybe it’ll work” LOL! … Thank you for being here! πŸ™‚

  2. I totally understand the desire to want to lose quickly. I was the same way myself! And I’d be so hungry after a few days that I would gorge myself.. then feel guilty.. then starve myself again. It took a while for me to just even all my days out. I ate more each day, and because I was more satisfied, I didn’t feel the need to splurge any other day. By doing this, I lost weight consistently, which was just as motivating as losing it quickly.
    I think we all have to come to that realization ourselves. 1300 calories is a great start! I wouldn’t even be afraid to go up to 1500 some days, especially if you’re exercising. (And don’t forget to get some muscle toning exercises in…. sit-ups, push-ups, squats, hand weights…) Muscles burn calories all by themselves! Less work for you! πŸ™‚

    • -sigh- I still wish I had a wand that would make the pounds just disappear, but I know I wouldn’t learn anything that way! There’s so much to learn when you lose weight, so many lessons not just about food, it’s actually “character” forming this whole thing! … Thank you for your advice and patience πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

