Home » Weight Loss » Consistently GAINING weight?

Consistently GAINING weight?

Weird… yes, I’ve been consistently gaining weight! I had reached 178.8 and right now I am at 181.2 huh! Weird! again I am not going to freak out but I must admit I am intrigued! I am working hard, really, I am not making excuses to myself, I am not cheating, I am not even allowing any kind of deception in my brain, I count every little bit of thing that goes into my mouth! I am meticulous about it! and when “in doubt” I just go to the higher possible amount of calories when I track my food, for example if I eat a small bite of a string cheese I just record like I a 1/4 of a string of cheese, if I eat a thin slice of carrot cake (like a did yesterday) I just go ahead and track it like a “slice of carrot cake” in myfitnesspal! and act accordingly during the day!

Yesterday, regardless of the “carrot cake and pound cake” -I know it sounds bad! But you have to believe me when I say I had super thin slices of them- I had guests over for cake and coffee so I didn’t want to “not eat” with them, I had to make “that” my breakfast and I eliminated other calories during the day so these were my numbers:

Totals 1,372 197 60 36
Your Daily Goal 1,678 230 55 62
Remaining 306 33 -5 26
Calories Carbs Fat Protein
*You’ve earned 478 extra calories from exercise today

As you can see I only ate 1372 calories for the day… then I burned 478 so I “supposedly” had a net calorie intake of 894 calories, the “myfitness pal” thing has been saying “if everyday is like today you’ll be 169 pounds in 5 weeks” it’s been 3 already and I am at 181.0 pounds! -sigh- I keep trusting and of course I’ll keep doing this, there’s no choice! I can’t go back! so… I am working, working, working! It would sure be nice to see the numbers go down! But I guess it’ll happen over time! It would just be nice to be able to reach my initial goal which was to lose 10 pounds in 5 weeks and now that’s far from a reality… I still have to lose 8 pounds and I am almost at the 5 week mark! -sigh-
Ok… enough of my pity party! Have a great weekend!

The Thin Lady Inside

5 thoughts on “Consistently GAINING weight?

  1. Don’t get discouraged! I always try to underestimate my workout calories and overestimate my food calories. It tends to be more accurate that way. Like I said before, email me if you need any help 🙂

  2. The last thing you want to do is eat even less. Especially if you’re already estimating a higher calorie count than what it really is. It’s quite possible that you are slowing your metabolism down by not eating enough. Check out this article and see what you think. http://www.livestrong.com/article/160133-eating-less-gaining-weight/
    It mainly talks about the importance of metabolism and muscle.
    Either way, don’t get discouraged, like Katey says. You are doing a phenomenal job,and you probably just need to tweak a few things to jump start a loss. I like the article’s idea of eating more often throughout the day – just smaller portions each time. Not always conducive to family meals however. And be sure to drink lots of water – especially since you like salty foods. (Me too, by the way!!) Keep learning, keep trying, and stay motivated! You got this! 🙂

    • Thanks shadow! I will check the article out! I promise! I don’t think I am eating too little… but I sure eat bigger amounts less frequently rather than smaller more often… I just feel like when I eat smaller portions often it somehow tells my brain “I haven’t eaten anything” LOL! and I feel hungrier!

      I do drink lots of water… probably 16 cups a day… I know I need to wash that salt out of my system! LOL! Thank you so much for the encouragement and for sharing that article with me.

  3. You are working so hard it has to pay off sometime! It seems to be way harder to lose them pounds when you already lost a lot, for me anyway, even when I don’t sabotage myself. It will come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

