Home » Plateaus » Trying to trust it!

Trying to trust it!

I know I should trust the calories that I’m supposed to according to MyFitness Pal… but when I was eating more as it was suggesting I noticed the gain increase… Yesterday was my all time low and I ate 1059 calories but with the physical activity and exercise it turned out to be about 654 Net calories… I know that’s too little… even when I do feel I ate enough… I need to find a balance and not go to the extreme of eating that little amount of calories… I am on the fight!
The Thin Lady Inside

7 thoughts on “Trying to trust it!

  1. I had that same problem. Even now as I try to maintain my current weight it says to eat around 2100 and that just scares the tar out of me!

  2. I know it’s scary, but 1029 calories isn’t enough to fuel your body, so it just shuts down, and could decide it wants to store fat in case you “starve” it again. That’s the opposite of your goal, of course. 🙂 And if you’re showing a gain after eating 1600 calories it’s NOT because you ate too much. It’s impossible to gain weight if you’re taking in below 1800-2000 calories.
    I’m just reiterating what you already know, I’m sure – but sometimes it helps to hear it again. I’d say if you’re between 1200-1500 calories per day, with moderate exercise and toning, you should be good. If you up your exercise a whole lot, then take in another 100 calories or so, so that your body will feel comfortable enough to keep burning calories instead of shutting down.
    The mom in me tends to come out in times like this – sorry! I totally understand if you wanna roll your eyes at me. My kids do! lol 🙂

  3. Not only I am not rolling my eyes at you… I am sooo thankful for this! I needed to hear (read) every word you shared with me… every number! It DOES make sense! It truly does and even when I feel like “I know it” sometimes I doubt even my own knowledge and my brain tricks me into thinking that no matter what I “know” I might be wrong! Your words are so needed! I needed someone telling me this, so clearly like that! … … I feel like my fears of not knowing how to handle food comfortably yet… make me feel like “any amount” can hurt me! Thank you so much!

    • Let me also say that I totally understand your fear. The thoughts you are having ran through my OWN mind for many years. So you’re not crazy to be thinking like you are. 🙂
      I think that’s why I try to get you to TRUST the numbers and TRUST yourself that you’re doing the right thing. It took me a long time to get to that point.
      I think my only concern with your Fitness Pal is the number of calories it thinks you’ve burned. Does it measure your heart rate and all that? And I assume it has figured in your height and weight, etc. In my experience, machines tend to think you’ve burned more than you actually have, but maybe the Fitness Pal has much better technology. Remember, I lost weight back in the Stone Age.
      Anyway, like I said earlier, keep tracking your calorie intake. Stay between 1200 and 1500 calories daily. Get 4-5 days of cardio exercise in, where you get your heart rate up enough that it’s hard to talk, and get 3-4 days of toning exercises. Sit-ups, push-ups, hand weights, squats, etc. all build muscle. The calories that you take in then will be burned while “repairing” the muscles you’ve worked, and the new muscles will continue to burn calories just because. 🙂
      It always seems like you eat a variety of foods, so I don’t think you’re taking in too many sugars and carbs (you need SOME for sure), but your salt intake might be causing those fluctuations you’re seeing. Drinking water helps with that. (Funny, that drinking water actually keeps water weight in control. lol)
      Dang, I didn’t mean to keep giving advice. I was supposed to just let you know that I know exactly how you feel. And I really do. I still find it hard sometimes to trust that I can eat a meal and not gain weight. So you’re not alone!
      Good luck this week! Keep me updated! 🙂

      • Thank you! about the calorie burning… I just enter it in MyFitness Pal… it doesn’t really calculate it for me… I don’t have the FITBIT which is the one supposed to do it for you… But since I exercise on the Balance Board it tells me how many calories I’ve burned based yes on my weight, height, METS (Metabolic Equivalent of Task) and duration of the activity… example “sitting = 1 Met” standing and trying to keep balance is 2 METS, etc… … the exercise I do on the Balance board is usually 4 to 5 METS. It does NOT measure my heart rate but I figure it’s pretty accurate (I sure hope so) LOL! … Thanks both for the support and advice… Keep it coming! I do welcome it! 🙂 Hugs!

  4. Yeah – the balance board sounds like it would be more accurate, and if you’ve entered your weight and height into your MyFitness Pal, it should give you a more accurate count.
    I think you’re doing great, by the way! It’s so hard, and you’ve been hanging in there for so long. It’ll pay off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

