Home » Uncategorized » Finding satisfying alternatives

Finding satisfying alternatives

I loooove sandwiches! I really do! And I’ve found them to be a great aid in my eating healthier lifestyle! … You can stack them up, make them big with veggies, some cheese and avocado, roasted veggies and different spreads on the bread… I just make sure I have “the right kind of bread” to keep the calories down!

Well… Sometimes I do feel like eating something that I can use a spoon or a fork to eat it! So I am trying to make sure I add variety to my diet so I don’t get bored or start making “bad choices” due to my craving of something soupy, hot or just different!

So… I found this awesome recipe (which I altered and I am happy I did) in the book I borrowed from a friend (I mentioned that on my previous post) and it is SOOOO GOOD! Again… the credit goes mostly to the people from “Cooking Light” but as I said… I did some tweaks and changes…

Very healthy, satisfying and yummy! (plus it’s freezable!) I just finished eating this for lunch!

Image

GARDEN MINESTRONE

Yield: 8 servings (serving size: 1 1/2 cups soup and 2 tablespoons cheese)
281 calories per serving

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon crushed dried oregano
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 6 cups chopped zucchini
  • 1 cup chopped carrot
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels (about 2 ears)
  • 4 cups chopped tomato, divided
  • 3 (14-ounce) cans fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth, divided
  • 1/2 cup uncooked ditalini pasta (very short tube-shaped macaroni) – I just used small elbow pasta
  • 1 bunch of red chard leaves (about 4 cups coarsely chopped) -you can also use a 6 oz. pkg. of spinach-
  • 2 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) fresh Asiago cheese (shredded)
  • Coarsely ground black pepper (optional)

Image

Preparation

  1. Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion to pan; sauté 3 minutes or until softened. Add oregano and garlic; sauté 1 minute. Stir in carrot, and corn; sauté 4 minutes, add zucchini and sautee with the rest of the vegetables for 1 more minute. Remove from heat.
  2. Place 3 cups tomato and 1 can broth in a blender; process until smooth. Add tomato mixture to pan; return pan to heat. Stir in remaining 1 cup tomato and remaining 2 cans broth; bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes.
  3. Add pasta to pan; cook 10 minutes or until pasta is tender, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Stir in chopped chard leaves, salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Ladle soup into individual bowls; top with cheese. Garnish with coarsely ground black pepper, if desired.

ImageThe Thin Lady Inside

3 thoughts on “Finding satisfying alternatives

    • Thanks! I do try to include many vegetables … always! Even before eating the way I am doing now… The problem I used to have was mostly inactivity and eating way too many calories (even from good stuff) … you know? More carbs than I needed, etc… I just buy whatever vegetables they have in the store… I used to buy Organic everything but I can’t afford to right now… A friend gave me some good organic ears of corn and chard and I used them for this soup! YUM!

Leave a Reply

