Home » Recipes » Southwestern Falafel with Avocado Spread

Southwestern Falafel with Avocado Spread

Hello friends! I’ve been doing good… well… kind of… I don’t know if you remember I mentioned I get a weird rash often… well… it seems it’s the sun that causes it… I got it again and I am going to get tested for Lupus… Hopefully that’s not it and it’s just some simple allergy… -sigh- So… since I’ve had it again I can’t get overheated… not even a little bit… so exercising becomes near to impossible… I’ve stayed very active though… more than usual… and making sure I stay in my calorie range! It’s been very good!
So, recently, a friend let me use one of her cooking books (she wanted me to find what to do with spaghetti squash but I haven’t even looked it up yet… -shame-) but I’ve found great recipes here! It’s one of those “Cooking Light” Annual Recipe Books and this one is from 2006! there are such great recipes here and it got me inspired! So once it was time to go grocery shopping (yesterday) I made sure I would add more different things to be able to make some of the recipes from the book… and this is the first thing I made from it (I just had it for dinner tonight)! It was delicious, very inexpensive and only 281 calories per serving! YUM!

Southwestern Falafel with Avocado Spread

Obviously the traditional falafel is made with chickpea patties in pita bread, well this is an American version (a Tex-Mex falafel I guess?) and it uses pinto bean patties that are enhanced with green onions, cilantro and cumin, these patties go in pita bread and a very easy guacamole spread.

Amount per serving

  • Calories: 281
  • Calories from fat: 30%
  • Fat: 9.5g
  • Saturated fat: 3.4g
  • Monounsaturated fat: 3.9g
  • Polyunsaturated fat: 1.5g
  • Protein: 12.2g
  • Carbohydrate: 37.4g
  • Fiber: 5.9g
  • Cholesterol: 13mg
  • Iron: 2.4mg
  • Sodium: 625mg
  • Calcium: 188mg

Patties:

  • 1 (15-ounce) can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/4 cup finely crushed baked tortilla chips (about 3/4 ounce)
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped green onions
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped cilantro
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons canola oil

Spread:

  • 1/4 cup mashed peeled avocado
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped plum tomato (you can use roma tomatoes too)
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped red onion (or white if you don’t have red)
  • 2 tablespoons fat-free sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 (6-inch) pitas, each cut in half crosswise

Preparation

  1. To prepare patties, place pinto beans in a medium bowl; partially mash with a fork. Add Monterey Jack cheese and next 5 ingredients (through egg white); stir until well combined. Form into 4 (1/2-inch-thick) oval patties.
  2. Heat canola oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add patties; cook 3 minutes on each side or until patties are browned and thoroughly heated.
  3. To prepare spread, while patties cook, combine the avocado, plum tomato, red onion, sour cream, lime juice, and salt. (I didn’t include the sour cream and added it separately on top of the patty/guacamole) Place 1 patty in each pita half. Spread about 2 tablespoons avocado spread over patty in each pita half.

Credit goes to: Krista Ackerbloom Montgomery & Ann Taylor Pittman, Cooking Light
AUGUST 2006

I hope you enjoy it! I think it’s a good change for the stuff we usually eat when “on a diet”

The Thin Lady Inside

Leave a Reply

