Home » Food pictures » Enjoy Avocados and Reduce Belly FAT!

Enjoy Avocados and Reduce Belly FAT!

Well… as you’ve probably noticed I’ve been sharing some Mexican recipes lately…. Being a Mexican (born and raised in Mexico) I often crave the great food for my country… and never find a place that does a good job representing Mexican cuisine… I am glad Mexican food is not the “greasy, cheesy” stuff everybody thinks it is… but it’s filled with rich, flavorful, FRESH ingredients and just the right amount of spice (instead of tons of it!)

Of course in Mexico, you’ll find very bad habits too… and poor choices as well… we are food lovers (and what’s not to love with such amazing options!?) and all our “events” revolve around food… we drink way too much coke, eat dinner way too late at night (there are taco stands in many streets and they are open sometimes until 1 or 2 in the morning!), eat too much salt and sometimes our carbs are not balanced… (we can eat rice, beans, potatoes and corn tortillas all together!)

But aside of that… I think we have many great, healthy choices! which makes me very happy because it means I can lose weight and satisfy my Mexican tooth!

I love avocados! They are brain food too! Avocados are rich in potassium and vitamin c and a great source of protein! Yes… they have more calories than other fruits but they are also way richer in vitamins and lots of good stuff! Plus they don’t have “that many calories” … just about 150 for 1 whole average sized avocado!

Loving avocado as much as I do I knew I had to include it in my diet! So I eat avocado EVERY SINGLE DAY! (in moderation of course!) and let me tell you a little secret: Did you know that avocados are good to fight BELLY FAT? Incredible! Isn’t it? Well… it’s because of its vitamin c content! it’s not magic! It turns out that people like me… who have issues with big middles usually have higher levels of cortisol, cortisol is the body’s key stress hormone. The problem is that cortisol slows your metabolism and it ALSO breaks down muscle! so you pretty much are a fat storing machine!  Vitamin C is known to reduce levels of cortisol! So try to include more Vitamin C in your diet with foods like avocados, which are also rich in monounsaturated fats, these fats are known to reduce inflammation and decrease fat storage in the belly!

Ok… so enough of the information and let’s get to the yummy part… so … We love avocados and we’d love to enjoy a big guacamole, right? We can do that! but to cut on the calories I have a little trick that will not hurt the flavor:

Make your guacamole with equal parts of avocado and MASHED PEAS! … Yes! Peas! When I was little I remember my mom used to go to a “Mexican kind of Weight Watchers” thing… and they used to use mashed peas instead of avocado to make some salsas to top their “light taquitos” … So… I thought it was a good idea! And then today I found a recipe to make this great guacamole without the guilt! Peas have calories too, of course… but less fat content! Real Mexican guacamole does NOT call for sour cream or Taco Mix seasoning and stuff like that…  and it should all be fresh ingredients (except for the peas in this case)

So… here’s your SKINNY GUACAMOLE!

4 Servings   = Calories per serving: about 90-100

INGREDIENTS:

1 box (10 oz.) frozen peas, thawed
2 tbsp. fresh lime juice
1 Hass avocado
2 plum tomatoes, chopped
1/3 cup Spanish onion, finely chopped
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
2 tbsp. chopped jalapeño chiles (optional)
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

PREPARATION:

1. In a food processor, combine peas and 1 tbsp. of the lime juice and process until smooth. Set aside.

2. Scoop avocado flesh into a medium bowl. Add remaining 1 tbsp. lime juice and mash with back of fork or potato masher. Add peas to mashed avocado and mix to combine. Add tomatoes, onion, cilantro, and jalapeños and continue mixing until desired texture is reached. Season with salt and black pepper to taste. Cover with plastic wrap placed directly on surface of guacamole and refrigerate for at least 1 hour (no more than 2) to let flavors blend (this is key, because that way the peas will absorb all the flavor from the avocado and the rest of the ingredients).

Enjoy!

 The  Thin Lady Inside
One thought on “Enjoy Avocados and Reduce Belly FAT!

  1. I am so happy that you’re sharing these recipes. I love Mexican as well, and being so flavorful, Mexican food can be very satisfying. I’ve heard great things about avocados, mostly everything you mentioned about them, but I don’t eat them too often. Not sure why – I love them, but I’ve never actually cooked with one. I will be trying this, however. I love the ideas of mixing them with peas. 🙂 My blog friend Julie has been on a cauliflower kick. I wonder if you could mix that with the avocado as well…. ??

Leave a Reply

