Home » Weight Loss » What You Crave VS What You Need

What You Crave VS What You Need

I found this chart online and thought it’s very interesting!

Many times I’ve felt like the cravings I have are the consequence of my body “lacking something” (not all the time of course! many times it’s just me wanting to have ice cream or brownies LOL!) but there are times when I feel something “bigger than me” just NEEDING to eat sugar or MEAT! and I feel that it’s your body asking you for something that it’s needing…. now… we can always make good choices (even when trying to satisfy those cravings) so I thought this was very neat!

I remember there was a time when my mom (being a teacher) was always desperately craving to eat chalk! which was very odd (even for her! It didn’t make any sense!) but she would sometimes give in and bite a little bit of chalk in her desperation! Well… she went to the doctor and she was needing calcium! and they told her she wasn’t alone.. There are even “pieces of chalk” you can buy with a prescription (those are safe and good for you!) for women like my mom! LOL! (sounds like she is a little crazy but trust me SHE IS NOT!) and once she got her calcium supplements and stuff like that all the cravings disappeared! So… let’s identify what our body is really needing and kill those cravings once and for all with HEALTHY stuff! If we are craving for something let’s pay attention and see if our body is trying to tell us “there is something we are missing” in our diet… and let’s get it the right way (not overeating and indulging into fatty, junk food!)

The Thin Lady Inside

5 thoughts on “What You Crave VS What You Need

  1. Reblogged this on Lara: On the Weigh Down and commented:
    This is definitely something to think about! Great post from “The Thin Lady Inside” – identifying what your body is actually asking for when a craving hits. Give this a try and see if it helps next time!

  2. Wow! This is neat indeed! I am rebloging this so I have it handy on my blog because it all makes sense. I will try to use it too because I agree with you, those cravings are so strong sometimes it has to mean something. Thanks for finding and sharing πŸ™‚

  3. Sometimes when you are craving salt you are dehydrated. Your body makes you crave salt because that is what you use to hold onto all the water in your body. So I would actually recommend trying to drink water, it will help the craving go away, and it will also decrease all of the swelling you might have from trying to eat a salt lick

Leave a Reply

