Home » Uncategorized » Running and broken Televisions!

Running and broken Televisions!

Hello! I haven’t been very consistent with my posting, with hubby on vacations we’ve been out and about, plus whenever I get a chance I try to workout! … So… I just want to give an update about something that for me… for me is AWESOME and I never thought I would actually be able to do… and that is… RUNNING… Actually RUNNING…

So… as you know (If you’ve been following this blog) I started exercising in January and my workouts consisted of walking on the treadmill for an hour with periods of 1 to 2 minutes running every 10 minutes of the whole hour, but those 1 to 2 minutes seemed like an eternity! I felt like I was out of breath as soon as I increased the speed in the machine, my heart was pumping and jumping out of my throat and I just felt like those were the longest minutes ever … Then… if you read a few posts ago I posted that I ran a whole mile... my first mile EVER and I felt so accomplished! I never thought I could do that! well… let me tell you that the other day (about a week ago) I went to the gym here in the apartment complex where I live and I started running, not knowing what would happen, I tried to turn on the TV on the treadmill but for some reason it wasn’t getting any signal, I was bummed in the beginning, I was hoping there would be some “distraction” that would keep me from thinking about the “pain” and from my “out-of-breathedness” (LOL) but still… I started running… I was pretty surprised that I had been running for 10 minutes and I was still going strong… then 15 minutes and I couldn’t believe what I was doing… I was RUNNING! REALLY RUNNING! And all of a sudden I realized that my reflection was on the TV monitor and I didn’t look like I looked 4 months ago… I wasn’t fainting and weak… I felt strong and my own reflection helped me keep going, 20 minutes and finally 30, my HR was of 165 p/minute and I felt alive! I couldn’t believe what had just happened! I truly was probably overly cautious and I didn’t want to “push my luck” and run some more… I had already worked out for 2 and a half hours that day and I was afraid of ruining my workouts by doing too much … that would be bad luck! But there I was… strong! I was ecstatic and happy that the TV wasn’t working! I watched something much better… I saw myself becoming something I never thought I would even be close to ever be….
The Thin Lady Inside

4 thoughts on “Running and broken Televisions!

  1. What an incredible accomplishment! It’s always surprising to learn what we can do when we put our minds to it. I never thought I would enjoy running, but at 30 years old I began running, and was soon up to 20+ miles a week.
    That could be the reason you’re feeling so hungry! You may be craving ‘energy’ from food to keep up the physical activity! Try a little protein snack, or some fresh fruit when you’re hungry. It’s okay to eat, just make good choices!
    Well done!

    • I know! It certainly is surprising! Especially because, like my husband says, our bodies are ALREADY decaying and it’s amazing that regardless of “how bad I’ve treated it” and how age and “normal deterioration” occur (besides the RA I have)… regardless of all that… our bodies still “respond” and get stronger and can be TRANSFORMED! It is incredible! 🙂 Thank you for the tip about the protein bar… I guess I’ve been scared of food… LOL! Actually one of my coming posts will be about “that” 🙂 Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

