Home » Weight Loss » Chewing bad thoughts away!

Chewing bad thoughts away!

I just want to write a quick post on something I’ve been doing lately… I’ve been literally “chewing” my “bad thoughts” away… I basically got “sugar free” chewing gum and I keep it IN THE PANTRY so I can get a piece of gum while I cook and/or while I feed my girlies πŸ˜‰ .

I find out that I still get anxious sometimes when I am cooking and many times I’ve realized (too late) that I kept putting things in my mouth in the process of cooking or feeding someone… it felt bad because THOSE ARE ALL CALORIES! Yes, that string of cheese that your baby didn’t eat and that you ended up eating so quickly … those are calories! and “the fat in it” COUNTS … so … I’ve always hated chewing gum but I knew I NEEDED to do something about my WORSE-than-chewing-gum-habit of eating when I shouldn’t … and that’s when I bought my “sugar free” chewing gum, and there are so many good options out there! with only 5 calories per gum I get toΒ  taste something sweet that brings my “anxiety down” and also makes me very aware of the fact that I CAN’T JUST throw anything into my mouth while chewing! (that would be gross! LOL!) PLUS… (yes there is more) did you know that chewing gum fools the mind into thinking you are eating. It enhances the digestive process and raises your metabolism. There is also some “calorie burning” involved but not very high of course and since I am not an “avid gum chewer” it doesn’t make much of a difference for me but as far as I know chewing gum burns about 11 calories per hour. If you chew gum for 12 hours a day (ok… I would never be able to do this!!!), you’ll chew through 132 calories (no wonder goats keep their figure). If you weigh 150 pounds, you’d have to walk for 35 minutes at 3 miles per hour to burn that same number of calories.

Interesting, huh? so … chew away those bad thoughts of eating something you shouldn’t! If you are like me, finding it hard to not “snack” while you are cooking, trust me, this helps! It sure is helping me.

The Thin Lady Inside

5 thoughts on “Chewing bad thoughts away!

  1. So if you chew you gum for an half hour the calories of it dissapear! loll So you can chew as much as you want πŸ˜‰ It’s great that you have found a solution because it’s very hard not to finish the kids food (I KNOW), It’s a bad habit that comes naturally if you don’t like to waste food I guess.

  2. It really seems like you’re following in my footsteps without ever having seen where I’ve walked!
    I started gum chewing as well while I was dieting, and I still chew it today… mostly to let my mouth know I’ve eaten enough, ’cause sometimes, when food tastes REALLY good, you just wanna keep eating it. So to keep from doing that, I pop in a piece of gum. I also chew gum when I’m trying to stall my appetite. If I know I’ll be eating supper at 6, but I’m starving at 5, I chew some gum to fool my belly into thinking I’m eating – just like you said!
    So very good tip! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Chewing gum eases stress but harms your jaw? « ron clinical massage therapist

Leave a Reply

