Home » Uncategorized » Addicted to numbers! and A QUESTION for you

Addicted to numbers! and A QUESTION for you

-sigh- I guess I am addicted! To the scale! I feel lost without it! I said I would try not to weigh myself from here to Monday and I realized I wouldn’t be able to do it on my own …. so hubby took the scale and locked it in his car… LOL! That way it’s not tempting for me… But he said: ” I wonder if in the middle of the night you are going to get up and go get it! ” … That’s HOW BAD it is! 😮

This morning… guess what I did? I measured myself! LOL! I have no scale so I feel like I don’t know “who I am!” weird?!! so there you go!… of course I won’t see a dramatic change instantly from yesterday to today but I needed to see “numbers”! Something to tell me “where I am at” I’ll have to hide that too! A friend reminded me that I am not numbers! And she said wonderful, encouraging things about me! I guess I need to remember and believe who I am… in God! as a wife, mother, friend, sister, daughter, etc… So let me tell you something about me…. that is not weight related…

I love singing! And I can do it pretty well, I used to sing in a “smooth-jazz band” (and I won’t add the -when I was thin- even when it is pretty tempting! LOL), I can also crochet and right now I am working in a project! I am making a blanket for a friend’s baby, he/she will be born in the end of March so I have to hurry!, I can cook and bake! And I am really good at it! I just love seeing the faces of people when they eat what I make! I find joy in feeding my family good food!, I consider (and people have told me) that I am a good communicator, I am witty and funny and I always make people laugh!, I am very impatient and that gets on the way of things for me and I’ve made many mistakes because of that! (you thought I was just going to say wonders? well, no! I am not just numbers but OBVIOUSLY I am not just good at things! I can be horrible too) but hey… why don’t we stop here? I don’t want to get discouraged thinking about how bad I am being impatient, sometimes controlling, most times disorganized, too sensitive, and easily addicted to things!

The Bible says that I am a new creation in Christ; old things have passed away and all things have become new.
2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

So… I choose to believe that! 🙂 … anyway… there’s a lot more in the Bible about who I am …. I guess I’ll focus on that these days instead of the numbers on the scale!

And I have a question FOR YOU…. Who are YOU? Not what the scale tells you but could you share with me something that is not a number? I want to get to know you better, not your weight or size… but share something GOOD about you! I bet it will encourage you even to just share that, regardless of losing or gaining weight this week!

The Thin Lady Inside

2 thoughts on “Addicted to numbers! and A QUESTION for you

  1. About me … I love to paint. Not only painting the house (inside and out when needed and it always needs it) but I love to paint canvas in the manner of the great abstract expressionists like Jackson Pollock and Jonas Gerard. I’m not very good at it and I wish I could do it more often than I do now but too often ‘life’ gets in the way. I do take gigabytes (yes – gigabytes) of digital photos and videos. I’m fluent in Photoshop and Illustrator and program in PHP and other web languages (primarly because I work as a graphic artist / web developer but I also do it at home). And I enjoy hiking and geocaching. Thank you!

    • Hi Dave! Thanks for commenting! and thanks for sharing about who you are!!! That is sooo awesome! I wish I could paint like that! I feel like I have “the most awesome” ideas LOL! but it all stays in my mind! My brother is an artist too! He is great! I admire all that! I write too! I’ve written over 100 songs and many of them have been recorded… they are in Spanish though! I don’t think I would be able to write “like that” in English! Hopefully you share some of your work soon! It would be great to be able to see it!

Leave a Reply

